Skip to main content


State Department for Energy


Energy is one of the key enablers of Kenya’s Vision 2030 and the Big 4 Agenda development programs. Kenya treats energy security as a matter of national priority. The Third Medium Plan 2017-2022 identifies energy as the country’s driver into “a newly-industrializing, middle-income economy, providing a high quality of life to all its citizens in a clean and secure environment.” Kenya considers access to competitively-priced, reliable, quality, safe and sustainable energy as an essential ingredient for the country’s social –economic development.


The State Department is in charged with the mandate to develop and implement policies that create an enabling environment for efficient operation and growth of Kenya’s energy sector. The Ministry sets strategic directions to facilitate the growth of the sector while providing long term vision for all sector players.

Core Functions of the State Department for Energy

The core functions of the Ministry are derived from the President’s Executive Order No.1 of 2018 (Revised June, 2018). The functions are:

  1. National Energy Policy Development and Management
  2. Thermal Power Develpment
  3. Rural Electrification Programme
  4. Energy Regulation, Security and Conservation
  5. Hydropower Development
  6. Geothermal Exploration and Development
  7. Promotion of Renewable Energy