Cabinet Secretary for Energy and Petroleum Hon. Charles Keter and PS for Energy, Eng. Joseph Njoroge at the Masinga dam site which serves as a crucial reservoir among the 7 folks scheme, with a capacity of 1.56 billion cubic meters of water.

The 7 folks scheme which includes Masinga, Kamburu, Kiambere, Kindaruma and Gitaru generates almost all of Kenya’s Hydro-electric power which currently accounts  for about 51% of the installed capacity, which is about 820MW. The Jubilee Government is firm on its commitment to providing reliable and competitively priced power and this includes a shift to alternative and more reliable sources of electricity generation to avoid over-reliance of hydro-electric power. This has already been achieved with the injection of additional geothermal power (280Mw) which is now the base load for power supply in the country. This has ensured stable power supply and electricity costs throughout the year.

Energy Cabinet Secretary, Hon. Charles Keter and Energy Principal Secretary Dr. Eng. Joseph Njoroge also inspected the Kamburu power station which has an installed

capacity of 94.2MW. Following the full operationalization of the 280MW geothermal plant in Olkaria, the national electricity consumption by source is 47% Geothermal, 39% Hydro, 13% Thermal and 1% Wind. More sources of renewable energy are currently being developed, some of which will be loaded on to the national grid next year. This will

further stabilize the supply, cost and reliability of power in Kenya.