CS KeterCabinet Secretary,

Hon Charles Keter, EGH

As Kenya’s Cabinet Secretary for Energy, Hon. Charles Keter is responsible for the oversight, policy and governance of the Ministry’s mandate; to facilitate the provision of clean, sustainable, affordable, reliable, secure and quality Energy, for national development while protecting the environment. His main focus is on the national key flagship projects under the Jubilee Government, which incorporates: Universal Electricity Access, Transmission, Infrastructure Development and the Accelerated Generation of Power amongst others. Implementing the Ministry’s mission in support of the Governments goals of growing the economy, will advance the energy  strategy thus promoting leadership in the sector and region’s technology, innovation, management and performance.
Preceding his appointment in December 2015, Hon. Charles Keter was the Senator for Kericho County and Deputy Leader of Majority in Senate from 2013 till 2015. During his 13 year career in politics, Hon. Keter was also the Assistant Minister for Energy and Petroleum between 2008 and 2010 and a Member of Parliament for Belgut Constituency, which was rated the best in (CDF) Constituency Development Fund management in the year 2012.
His Political career was preceded by nine years of experience in the Telecommunications Sector, with expertise in Information Technology, Systems Analysis and Anti-fraud, as assistant manager of Anti Fraud Section, Telkom (K) limited.
Hon. Charles Keter holds a Global Executive MBA from the United States International University (USIU) – Africa and a Bachelors Degree in Double Maths from Kenyatta University.

CAS KachapinChief Administrative Secretary

Hon. Simon K. Kachapin is the Chief Administrative Secretary in the Ministry of Energy.
His specific duties and responsibilities under the authority of the Cabinet Secretary entails; providing policy direction, cordination and overall supervision and performance in the ministry.
Preceding his appointment in March 2018, Hon. Simon Kachapin was the Governor of West Pokot County from 2013 to 2017.
He was the Chief Administrative Secretary, Ministry of Education before joining the Ministry of Energy in the same capacity. He was also the KESSHA Chairman West Pokot and the Chairman Principals Catholic Diocese of Kitale.
Hon. Kachapin has been Deputy Principal for 4 years and Senior Principal for 12 years.
He holds a Bachelor’s Degree from Moi University and currently pursuing a Master’s Degree in Leadership and Intergrity.

PS Energy

Principal Secretary, State Department of Energy

Dr. Eng. Joseph Njoroge, MBS was appointed to his current position of Principal Secretary in the Ministry of Energy and Petroleum in May 2013 and became the PS in the State Department for Energy following re-organization of government in December 2015. He has wide experience in power engineering and management. Prior to his appointment as PS he was the Managing Director of Kenya Power and Lighting Company. Dr. Eng. Njoroge holds a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering and Master of Business Administration with a major in strategic management. He is a Chartered Electrical Engineer, a member of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, UK, a Registered Consulting Engineer, and is also a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers of Kenya. He is also Chairman of the MBA Chapter of University of Nairobi Alumni Association. He holds a PhD from University of Nairobi’s School of Business.

Translate »